children, sewing

Peony Patterns Calendula in Jersey & Chiffon

A few months ago, I was checking out the $3 p/yard remnant room of one of our local fabric stores (G Street Fabrics), when I found some polkadot ITY knit and a matching polkadot chiffon! With no project in mind, but in awe that I’d stumbled upon two identical prints on two different bases in a remnant room, I just had to take it all home with me!

When I saw the Calendula Dress, I decided it was time to cut into my polkadot haul! I used the knit for the bodice and skirt, and the chiffon for the sleeves and tie in the back. Hemming the sleeves required using a narrow rolled hem, which I did on my serger with some washaway stabilizer behind it (without the stabilizer, it insisted on being eaten by my machine instead).

I’m so excited about this dress! It’s so feminine and pretty, and just perfect for my ten year old!

Calendula is on sale at Peony Patterns for just a couple more days – until July 18, 2022. If you’re looking for a lovely beginner friendly dress you can sew up, take a look at this one! To see more of my creations with this pattern, check out my floral scuba Calendula and Bluey Calendula. Happy sewing!

P.S. Be sure to join the Peony Patterns sewing group on Facebook for more inspo and advice!

Leave a comment