Accessories, children, sewing

Back to School Blog Tour with Pickle Toes AND Giveaway!

blog tour.jpg

Can you believe school starts in less than a month??! Well — for those of you living in Virginia and most of the USA, that is! (Completely unrelated aside: I remember growing up in Australia and being *super* confused during the movie Grease, when the students would return to school immediately after Christmas – in Australia, school starts in Jan/Feb and our long summer break is over Christmas! Only in the last year or so have I started to adjust to the US system of starting school in September. I still prefer having Christmas in the summer though!!).

36434900765_907099cefd_b1

This year we’ll be homeschooling again – I’m hoping I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew with joining two co-ops this year (Classical Conversations and a private church based co-op in our area)!

Even though we’re home schooling, new clothes are still in order!

36434903375_b19410dca8_b

Little Miss 5 has been requesting demanding a rainbow dress for a few years now, and so I thought I’d surprise her with one just in time for the new school year.

For this look I used the Pickle Toes Adorabelle dress pattern* and the Pickle Toes Sugar and Spice Headband (free when you join the Pickle Toes Facebook Group).

36434903755_3da311c6ac_b

Love this look? Read on to find out how you can save 25% on Pickle Toes patterns this month AND enter to win $10 in shop credit at Pickle Toes!

About the Patterns

The Pickle Toes Adorabelle dress pattern has many different options and is rated for beginner to advanced beginner.

Some of the options with this dress include:

  • Flutter sleeve and/or long sleeve, short sleeve, sleeveless
  • Peplum top, tunic, or dress length
  • Two hood styles or regular neckline
  • Panel (princess) or plain front
  • Pockets
  • Sizes 6 months to 16
  • PDF Layers

36434901205_726aae54cc_b

For this dress, I decided to do the flutter sleeves, dress length, regular neckline, princess front, and pockets.

36297894031_4c10e717fb_b

In terms of sizing, I noticed the pattern only included chest measurements so I contacted the designer for the rest of the sizing information. (Note, she is currently updating all of her patterns and website, and this is one of the things that will be fixed!). For my skinny and tall daughter who is almost six, I used size 4 and lengthened the bodice and skirt to size 6 (remember to always go by measurements, not your child’s age or store bought size!). The dress has plenty of ease, so she has lots of room to grow.

36297899441_cbf2fb97bb_b

My dress ended up a little longer because I decided to do a lettuce edge rolled hem on each skirt layer with my serger rather than folding each one up and coverstitching. I’d much rather be a little long than too short though! (I used this same technique to finish the flutter sleeves too).

36297900471_61763b1886_b
Baby girl *always* insists on getting in on the shot!

The pocket was a little different to any knit pocket I have done before. Rather than 2 individual pockets on each side, it has a hidden kangaroo pocket. While my daughter loves that she can connect her hands inside her dress, I think I would prefer to do a coverstitched inseam pocket next time to reduce bulk in that area, and so she is less likely to stretch her dress down. (If you are using a custom panel though, you would still be best using the kangaroo pocket or omitting the pockets).

36434903085_bb9afba306_b

To prevent the bodice from getting stretched out of shape, I made sure to add clear elastic (I use Framillon) to the shoulder seams. You may consider using some to stabilize the skirt seam too, though that area does get quite bulky already with 6 layers being joined there.

36297898451_820e774aa6_b

While I think there’s some room for improvement in the layout of the instructions (editor at heart here!), they are fairly straightforward to follow. There are also plenty of photos to look at for each step.

My daughter adores the twirl factor and pockets in this dress!

 

I thought it would be fun to pair this dress with the Sugar & Spice Headband! This was quick and easy to whip up (just 4 rectangles to cut out – which is easy to do with a quilting ruler and rotary cutter) and required just a little hand stitching to finish off. This great accessory is available in doll sizes as well as NB – Adult. I used size 2-12 years for my daughter and it’s a perfect fit.

36297895271_6760a82940_b

About the Fabric

The thing that took me the longest with this dress was working out which fabric I would use, and how. I knew I wanted to use these Cotton Lycra rainbow stripes that I picked up from Funkalicious Fabrics last year. I then decided to use some of the colors from the stripes in the skirt tiers. Since I already had the magenta (Purple Seamstress) and purple (Stenzo), I decided to get some pink from Purple Seamstress to follow the color order in the bodice. I used Cotton Lycra for each of the tiers, though Soul Fed on Thread shared a version with cotton woven in the skirt, which would certainly help with making this dress lighter if that is your goal!

36434901705_9dd9493488_b

Now, on to the Giveaway!

Would you like a chance to win $10 to spend on Pickle Toes Patterns? Simply hop on over to the Rafflecopter for your chance! AND, to get started on your next Pickle Toes outfit right now, use code SEWSBTS to save 25% on any purchase of $7.50 or more (ends August 31, 2017).

36434902315_23d642ab6c_b

Check out these Amazing Bloggers!

All this month, bloggers will be sharing their makes during the Pickle Toes Back to School Tour. Be sure to stop by for your inspiration fix!

August 1 – Sew Delightful
August 5 – Soul Fed on Thread
August 9 – Auschick Sews (you are here!)
August 10 – Adventures with Bubba and Bug
August 11 – Tales from a Southern Mom
August 14 – Miss Marah Sewn
August 15 – Me Made
August 16 – Hazelnut Handmade
August 17 – Sewing By Ti
August 18 – Sew Many Adventures
August 21 – Fée bricolo
August 28 – Fairytale B&T

20431512_10203381366211272_9870519734593278_n

36389489896_d446fb8f5b_b

*I received this pattern complimentary for purposes of review. All opinions are 100% my own!

7 thoughts on “Back to School Blog Tour with Pickle Toes AND Giveaway!”

Leave a Reply

