children, sewing

Hallå Stardust Hoodie & Forever Fit Joggers

35887279696_43b0589da3_b

Today I’m letting my son get some lovin’! As you’ll be able to see from these photos, he was *super* excited that I made something for him!!

35887319686_fd9fa8d068_b

With some of my leftover MK*Designs “Evil Melted Crayon” fabric (used in my daughter’s Boo! Designs Skater Dress), I sewed up a Hallå Stardust short sleeved hoodie (from the very versatile Hallå Stardust shirt pattern). As I sew more of these, I am gaining more confidence!! I also decided to make him some matching pants using the Hallå Forever Fit Joggers pattern, which Samantha (Hallå Patterns designer) sent me to review *ages* ago!

About the Hallå Kids Stardust Shirt

35887279246_442b37da33_b

This pattern has so many options! It’s a tank top, t-shirt, long sleeved top, hoodie – all in one pattern! You can also do it with or without the star, and with or without pockets too! (And, you can match your kid too with the free Hallå Stardust Tank too :)). The star certainly takes practice, but after a few shirts, you get the hang of it :). It’s such a great way to show off a special print or panel too! The sizes range from 3 months – 14 years.

35088224374_431f36ee18_b

35757927972_147dd983e9_b

About the Hallå Kids Forever Fit Joggers

Admittedly, when I received this pattern, I couldn’t understand how it was different to the Hallå Kids Play Pants. It wasn’t until I looked at the pattern pieces closely that the lightbulb went off: each size has a huge range that will fit your child as they grow! This particular pair will fit a child between 6/9 months and 3/4 years! So, this means my baby girl and 3 year old son can share pants! Pretty neat huh? Simply fold or unfold the leg bands to change the size up.

35088226454_5f0d0225ae_b

These were an easy sew, and I don’t think I made any major changes. The only thing I did differently was that I changed the sewing steps around so that I sewed the fronts together, then the backs, then sewed them both together (rather than making two separate legs, stuffing one inside the other, and sewing together).

35088224184_4e35a64005_b1

I also didn’t realize I was supposed to turn under the edges of the pocket before stitching onto the pants (this is what happens when I give a cursory overview of the instructions and then put them away). Oops! I used my coverstitch though, so the edges are fairly contained.

About the Fabric

This Melted Crayon fabric is a limited edition custom knit from MK*Designs. They sent me a complimentary yard of “strike off” to sew up and promote. This particular design will be available for sale in the MK*Designs group at 4pm CST Sunday July 16, 2017.

35887279876_62c4a2d3fd_b

I love that it can be a versatile print for all genders to wear! And there are lots of colors in the print that you can pull out as coordinates – pink, purple, yellow, green, black – all of these would look great. I had the black already in my stash (I think I got it from LDG Showroom) and I purchased the stripes from Purple Seamstress.

35757927362_afc8a6da6a_b

Next up I’ll be sharing a tank top for me using more melted crayon! Seriously, a yard can go a really long way!!

35088227834_499af60354_b
Aww, this shot melts my heart – he looks like such a little baby in this one!! *sniff*

 

3 thoughts on “Hallå Stardust Hoodie & Forever Fit Joggers”

Leave a Reply

