children, sewing

Ottobre Circus Horse Dress (4/2013 – #20)

27196822286_51863ccaee_bI made this dress for my daughter to wear over Christmas – it’s taken a while to get a photo of it! Little miss doesn’t like to wear any warm clothing however, so it has been impossible to get a photo of her actually in this dress!

As usual, the instructions were easy to follow, and the dress was quick to assemble. In hindsight, I should have centered the front skirt panel so that the center design aligned with the bodice. Oh well…

I used clear elastic to gather the skirt panels. The instructions called for narrow clear elastic (1/4″ I think), but I only had 5/8″ elastic. I do wonder if I could have got away with just ruffling it on my serger and not doing the clear elastic at all – it adds a weird bulk to it — though this may have been avoided if I’d sliced the elastic down the middle first.

I picked up this fabric from Joann during their Black Friday sale. I love the print, but I don’t like the feel of it. It also pills a ton :(.

Material Notes

Sweater fleece – Joann

Originally published on BurdaStyle 02/20/2016

Leave a Reply

