children, sewing

Ottobre Ruched Skirt (4/2013 #5)

(Originally published on BurdaStyle 1/17/2016)

I decided to make 4 of these little skirts as gifts for some upcoming birthdays. I love how easy they were to make, and how cute the finished product is! I might become addicted to shirring ;-).

dsc_0449

The instructions called for two rectangles serged together, resulting in two side seams, but I decided to just cut the piece out on the fold and do just one seam at the back instead.

27196818686_96c871dc8d_b

I used my serger to do a rolled hem along the top, with wooly nylon in the looper. I love how soft it is! I tried to get my coverstitch machine to create the shirring with a chain stitch, but it just wasn’t meant to be. In the end I did the shirring according to the Ottobre instructions – with my sewing machine. I LOVE how it looks!! I then serged the side seam together and then used my coverstitch to finish the hems (2 thread narrow with loopers on top and rayon thread).

26624372284_fa13d1deeb_b

Can’t wait to give these to the birthday girls!

 26624371064_4456e50ec9_b

Material Notes

Cupcake fabric – Lisette for JoAnn (2013)
My Little Pony fabric – JoAnn
Frozen Fabric – JoAnn

 

 

1 thought on “Ottobre Ruched Skirt (4/2013 #5)”

Leave a Reply

