children, sewing

Oliver + S Seashore Dress

(Originally published on BurdaStyle February 28, 2014)

12845873935_cc3caefeaa_bI made this Oliver+S Seashore Dress in 6-12M for a friend’s baby shower recently. I was put on a spending freeze by my hubby (lol), so shopped from my stash and opted for this fabric. I had just enough! Unfortunately I then went and carelessly clipped the front of the dress as I was clipping the curves, and since I didn’t have any more fabric, satin stitched over the top of it. You can’t tell from a distance, but of course, I can! I told the recipient that if I had time, I would make something else for her later!

12845879565_a588ffd2bd_b1

Overall the dress was easy to put together (it is rated 1 scissor on the packet) but is a little time consuming because so many pieces need to be cut out. I was really happy with the dress though. It’s really cute with the little pockets on the side – much cuter in person than in the line drawing, in my opinion! I plan to make some more for my 2 y/o.

 12845880805_456a5c65ef_b

Material Notes

polka dot quilting cotton – joann
buttons – from my button jar, joann I think

Leave a Reply

